Mother and Writer, Dahlia Rose on Motherhood, Self Care and Career

Tiffany Cassandra
3 min readFeb 26, 2021

--

Here, we catch up with Author Dahlia Rose on her idea of motherhood, why it’s okay to not be okay, and juggling career and family. This Hallmark writer basically advises us to do our own thing because we all parent differently.

How are you doing? How would you describe your life as a mom in just six words? I’m doing well thank you for asking! My six words would be “It’s okay to be not okay.”

What was the best advice on motherhood you ever received? Do your own thing, we all mother differently, what is meant for some is not meant for others. Love your child, make sure he or she is warm and protected and know they can come to you at any age.

How old are your kids? My kids run the gauntlet, 28, 23, 19, 16, 11 and I have a grandson that is 10 months old. I technically mother a lot. LOL

What are some things you and your family are doing to manage during Covid? We’ve been inventive, my husband made an outdoor movie theatre. We have had an 80’s techno party with glowsticks, even the dogs get involved. We’ve watched movies. And, right now it’s Halloween which is our favorite holiday. So the house is decked out and we keep ourselves entertained around the kids remote learning.

How are you keeping your kids busy? My kids are basically self-sufficient, I raised them to be independent so they all have their own activities from their art and sketching to video games and music. We are going on a family trip to Savannah this weekend so that will be fun. Ghostie Tours anyone!

What is your daily routine like? Wow… My day starts at eight thirty when I get my eleven-year-old up for school. From there, I check emails and marketing analytics for my books and then I write. In between that, I fit in my classes and homework. I make dinner and my day ends around six because I have a self-care regimen. At times, I have podcasts, zoom panels, and interviews and I fit it all in…somewhere! LOL!

What are your three “must-haves” as a mother? I could list off three things, but that wouldn’t be the truth. In my opinion, there is not a set amount of things that make motherhood or life any easier. We cope how we cope, which is the best way we can, especially in this pandemic life we are experiencing.

My only advice would be to take time for self-care, and to cut down on the low hum of noise we get accustomed to hearing as a mother. Sometimes we need a nest for ourselves, and we should take it.

What advice do you have for working moms? It is okay to be not okay, even during those days where work and family life collide. You are doing what you need to do for yourself and your family. Don’t feel guilty about not being home as much as you’d like, but when you are; make it count.

I see you are an author of a substantial catalog of books. Please tell us more about that. When did you start writing? Who do you write for?
I started writing fifteen years ago and I am a USA Today Bestselling author. I am a hybrid author which means I have a traditional publisher which is Hallmark and I’m indie published as well.

How can we find you online? Do you have a website or any social media links? Please share. I listed my links below and thank you for the wonderful questions.

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Unlisted

--

--